The other big winner was Masdar. They won the prestigious Project of the Year Award for the Shams 1 Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) project.

The big winners of this inaugural event included the Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA) which scooped up two awards. They won the honours for Utility Company of the Year and the DEWA CEO, Mr. Saeed Al Tayer, won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Mr. Al Tayer who is also the Vice Chairman of the Dubai Supreme Counsel of Energy also collected the Policymaker of the Year for the work done by the Supreme Energy Counsel in promoting solar energy in the UAE.

The other big winner was Masdar. They won the prestigious Project of the Year Award for the Shams 1 Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) project. Developed in cooperation with Spain’s Abengoa Solar and France’s Total S.A., Shams 1 is a world-class 100 MW concentrating solar power (CSP) project build in the Western region of Abu Dhabi. The Entrepreneur of the Year went to Alaeddine Mokri, a Research Assistant at Masdar Institute. Mr. Mokri won the award on the back of pioneering research he is carrying out on mapping the solar resources of the UAE and how best to overcome the challenges in operating in this unique environment.

The Local Company of the Year went to Abu Dhabi-based Enviromena. Established in 2007, Enviromena has grown to become the most successful solar energy services provider in the MENA region.

The Solar Technology of the Year went to SunPower, a US-based solar power developer. SunPower has broken new ground through the introduction of solar cells that have a record-breaking efficiency rate (21%) combined with the lowest yearly degradation rate (0.08%).

The Financial Advisor of the Year went to National Bank of Abu Dhabi for its work in establishing a project finance framework to support the commercial viability of solar projects in the UAE.

The Legal Advisor Award went to Taylor Wessing. The Award was collected by Dr. Michael Kramer, an outspoken advocate for clean energy in the UAE.

Finally, the Media Personality of the Year went to Robin Mills. Mr. Mills is a renowned author and columnist for The National and Head of Consulting at Manaar Energy. His research on the economics of solar projects has opened many people’s eyes to the attractiveness of solar energy in our region.

“Through the Solar Awards, our aim is to recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements made by local businesses, government entities and individuals who have made our solar industry a shining success,” said Vahid Fotuhi, President of ESIA.