The South African government has received three bids for the 200 MW concentrated solar power (CSP) being tendered as part of the country’s renewable energy programme.

The Department of Energy registered six consortiums and requested each to submit proposals for a 100 MW CSP plant. With two of the bidders to be selected to proceed, the final three bidders are:

Developers: GDF Suez/Kumba Iron
EPC contractor: Sener/Acciona

Developers: ACWA Power/Solar Reserve
EPC contractor: Tecnicas Reunidas/TSK

Developer: Emvelo
EPC: ACS Cobra

The government intends to announce the winners on 10th June and reach financial close for 20th February 2015.

Meet and network with leading developers and EPCs Emvelo, ACWA Power, SolarReserve, Sener, ACS Cobra and many more next week at the CSP Today South Africa 2014 conference (8th – 9th April).